April 07, 2019 10:01 AM

New Delhi (Sports Desk)

All India Football Federation President Mr. Praful Patel was elected a FIFA Council Member at the 29th AFC Congress Malaysia 2019 held in Kuala Lumpur earlier on Saturday.

A total of five candidates including Mr. Patel was elected in addition to the AFC President, and one female member for the term 2019-2013.

Moments after being elected a FIFA Council member, Mr. Patel thanked all for the support. “I am extremely humbled. I express my gratitude to all the members of the AFC who felt me suitable for the post,” he said. “The responsibility as a FIFA Council member is huge. I would not only be representing my own Country but the entire Continent. Thank you all for your confidence for rapid progress of Football in Asia,” he stated.

Mr. Kushal Das, General Secretary, All India Football Federation congratulated Mr. Patel on the achievement. “We at AIFF are extremely proud of him. This is a major development for India’s Football fraternity. Best wishes on his new endeavour,” he expressed.

Under Mr. Patel’s leadership, AIFF has been awarded with AFC’s President Recognition Award for Grassroot at the AFC Annual Awards in 2014 in Manila, and was awarded AFC Award for the AFC Best Developing Member Association at the AFC Annual Awards in 2016 in Abu Dhabi.

The successful hosting of the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017 drew lavish praise from all quarters, and India have also successfully won the bid to host the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020. Furthermore, the Indian Club Licensing system has also been dubbed as one of the ‘best in Asia.’

Hailing Mr. Patel’s election as a “landmark for Indian Football” AIFF Senior Vice President Mr. Subrata Dutta said: “Congratulations to Mr. Patel. He fully deserves this honour. His leadership has taken Indian Football to higher heights. Asian Football will immensely benefit from his presence as a FIFA Council member.”

Election Results

AFC President and FIFA Senior Vice President

H.E. Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa (Bahrain)

FIFA Council: HE Du Zhaocai (China PR), Mr. Praful Patel (India), Mr. Kohzo Tashima (Japan), Mr. Mariano V. Araneta, Jr. (Philippines), Mr. Saoud A. Aziz M A Al-Mohannadi (Qatar).

Female member: Ms. Mahfuza Akhter Kiron (Bangladesh).

AFC Vice Presidents

West Zone: Mr. Saoud A. Aziz M A Al-Mohannadi (Qatar).

Central Zone: Mr. Mehdi Taj (Islamic Republic of Iran).

South Zone: Mr. Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat (Pakistan).

ASEAN Zone: Mr. Zaw Zaw (Myanmar).

East Zone: Mr. Ganbaatar Amgalanbaatar (Mongolia).

AFC Executive Committee

West Zone: Mr. Abed-Alkhaliq Masoud Ahmed (Iraq), Mr. Hachem Haider (Lebanon), Mr. Salem Said Salem Al Wahaibi (Oman), Dr Hamid Mohammed Ali Al-Shaibani (Yemen).

Central Zone: Mr. Sayed Ali Reza Aghazada (Afghanistan).

South Zone: Mr. Dasho Ugen Tsechup Dorji (Bhutan).

ASEAN Zone: Mr. Chris Nikou (Australia), Dato' Haji Hamidin Bin Haji Mohd Amin (Malaysia),
Dr. Tran Quoc Tuan (Vietnam).

East Zone: Mr. Fok Kai Shan Eric (Hong Kong).

Female representatives on AFC Executive Committee

West Zone: Ms. Susan R. A. Alshalabi (Palestine).

Central Zone: (To be contested at a later date)

South Zone: Ms. Mahfuza Akhter Kiron (Bangladesh).

ASEAN Zone: Ms. Kanya Keomany (Laos).

East Zone: Ms. Han Un Gyong (DPR Korea)

Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2017, Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers