November 08, 2023 10:17 AM


Qualifier Shubh Negi and top seed Neeraj Yashpaul moved into quarterfinals in the men’s singles of National Ranking Tennis Championship for Men’s (Rs.2.5 lakhs prize money) at the Sector 10 Tennis Stadium here on Tuesday.

Qualifier Shubh Negi defeated his practice partner Rakshit Dhankar 6-4, 6-1 in straight sets. Shubh Negi maintained his consistency and cool temperament throughout the match. Top seed Neeraj Yashpaul defeated Tanik Gupta of MP 7-6(5), 6-4 in straight sets. Both players played good quality tennis in the 1st set, finally Neeraj used his experience and to closed the set in tie break.

In the second set Neeraj maintained his momentum with his aggressive game style to beat Tanik Gupta 6-4. 2nd seed Udit Kamboj also entered the Quarterfinals. Udit defeated Siddharth Basaiti 6-4, 6-4 in straight sets. Other players who moved into Quarterfinals are Jagmeet Singh, Ajay Kundu, Sarthak Sudan and Parth Aggarwal.

In the men’s doubles Quarterfinals top seed Udit Kamboj and Jagmeet Singh defeated Rakshit Dhankar and Shubh Negi 6-1, 6-4. Eklavya Singh and Neeraj Yashpaul also advanced into the semifinals in Men’s doubles.


Men’s singles (Pre-Quarterfinals): Neeraj Yashpaul (CH) [1] bt. Tanik Gupta (MP) 7-6(5), 6-4, Tushar Mittal (DL) bt. R Malhotra (DL) [8] 6-3, 6-4, Parth Aggarwal (DL) [4] bt. Shanker Heisnam (MN) (Q) 6-4, 7-6(5), Sarthak Sudan (DL) [5] bt. Dhananjay Singh (HP) 7-6(4), 6-2, Ajay Kundu (HR) [7] (Q) bt. Vilasier Khate (HR) 6-2, 6-2, Jagmeet Singh (HR) [3] bt. Rahul Yadav (PB) (Q) 6-2, 6-2, Shubh Negi (CH) (Q) bt. Rakshit Dhankar (CH) 6-4, 6-1 Udit Kamboj (HR) [2] bt. Siddharth Basaiti (HR) 6-4, 6-4. 

Men’s doubles (quarterfinals): Udit Kamboj (HR) / Jagmeet Singh (HR) [1] bt. Rakshit Dhankar (CH) / Shubh Negi (CH) 6-1, 6-4, Eklavya Singh (JH) / Neeraj Yashpaul (CH) bt. R. Malhotra (DL) / Sarthak Sudan (DL) [4] 6-3, 6-7(8), 10-6, A Singh Baha (DL) / Ricky Chaudhary (DL) bt. S. Arya K S (TN) / Vilasier Khate (HR) [3] 6-2, 7-6(4), Siddharth Basaiti (HR) / Ajay Kundu (HR) bt. P Aggarwal (DL) / Hemant Kumar (UP) [2] 6-1, 6-3.

Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © , Face 2 News, All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Disclaimers